My First Scrapbook Page

I was asked to create a scrapbook page for one of my long-time friends (I’ve known her since Kindergarten!) who is getting married this year!!  I have never created a scrapbook page before and I gotta say, it is HARD to think about what to do with all that space!!!  I am truly grateful that handmade cards have a more manageable, for me, creative space to work on.  I’m not in love with this layout but I had a deadline to meet and after many hours of pulling my hair out, I decided to go with the below:

See below for steps to reproduce:

  1. Grab an 8.5″ x 11″ sheet of patterned paper (I used a sheet of Pretty Party Invitation Pattern Paper by Crate Paper)
  2. Use the Jasmine Cricut Cartridge on an Cricut Expression 2 (or any other electronic die-cutting machine) to cut personalized names out of DCWV gold foil
  3. Die-cut two film strips using the Pretty Pink Posh Film Strip Die out of 80lb. Ash Cardstock from Paper Presentation
  4. Trace the die twice out on 80lb. Neenah Solar White Cardstock and fussy-cut to back the film-strip die-cuts with Honey Bee Scissors
  5. Cut a 4.25″ x 6.25″ rectangle out of 80lb. Neenah Solar White Cardstock and lightly blend Distress Inks (Antique Linen, Spun Sugar) with a mini ink blending tool.
  6. Stamp the vase from The Ton Stamps Fresh Cut Peonies Stamp Set using Hero Arts Soft Granite Shadow Ink on 80lb. Neenah Solar White Cardstock and vellum and fussy-cut
  7. Stamp the three-step flowers from The Ton Stamps Fresh Cut Peonies Stamp Set using Distress Inks (Spun Sugar, Worn Lipstick) with this very helpful stamping guide and MISTI and fussy-cut
  8. Stamp the two-step leaves from the Papertrey Ink The Sweet Life Stamp Set using Avery Elle Pigment Inks (Lemon Grass, Celery) and fussy-cut
  9. Stamp the sentiment from the Papertrey Ink Wet Paint III Stamp Set on vellum using Versamark Ink, heat emboss with Hero Arts Gold Embossing Powder and die-cut using Sizzix Fancy Labels No. 3 Framelits
  10. Embellish with a couple of Pretty Pink Posh sequins (Sparkling Clear Assorted, Pretty Peonies 4mm)
  11. Adhere everything together using the Scotch Advanced Tape Glider and Zig Two-Way Glue Pen
  12. Take a moment to sit back and remember some wonderful times you have had over the years with your life-long friend(s)!!  Make sure to tell them you love them!!

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today and Happy Crafting!

3 thoughts on “My First Scrapbook Page

Leave a comment